674 – Week 5

674 – Week 5

EQ: How do instructional design stages help us understand online teaching? 

Why Instructional Design? “Some critics of instructional design suggest that with abundance information available on the web, anyone can learn just about anything on their own terms and customize learning to their own needs. Instructional design is not at all relevant many argue—the models are inflexible and outdated. I disagree. Even though we have access to unlimited content and can learn just about anything on the web, I suggest that this is all the more reason that structure is needed to guide the learner, frame the experience, even for students seeking a self-directed learning program” (Morrison, 2013).

Templates for the instructional design stages help me greatly. They provide me with direction as to what is being asked of me and the format that is required. We all have different styles which we have learned in diverse classes with a variety of instructors. The design stages help me to ensure I am hitting all the points and staying on track during my planned approach. Sometimes I go the long way around to get to my point. I can refer back to the design stages to see if I can shorten the language.  The design stages are like a road map of what is needed at each stage and how to prepare for the next level. I find the design templates to be very helpful.

Instructional Systems Design (SID) is a widely accepted set of procedures used for the development of instructional programs (Moore and Kearsley, 2012. p122).

8183227679_ae1fc2d4d8_c

The Addie model (Analysis>Design>Develop>Implement>Evaluate), uses the ISD approach. Through this design model, we are able to ensure that we have fulfilled all of the required stages:

Analysis: This is where I study the topic and examine each angle objectively. I ensure that I have all of the talking points and that my flow is logical.

Design: This is where I begin layout my format making sure that I hit each point. I also make sure that I have my information arranged in a way that makes sense to the reader, not just me.

Develop: This is where I come up with a plan. I usually start with an opening statement, a definition, skip a few paragraphs, and then a conclusion. I go back after the conclusion to fill in the missing paragraphs.

Implement: This is where the plan is carried out. I ensure that my lesson plan looks like my vision.

Evaluate: This is where I compare my predication to the real results. I see what worked and what didn’t (strengths and weaknesses). I make notes for round two to ensure that I resolve any issues that surfaced.

“ADDIE is not a formal instructional design model; there is no documentation to be found that outlines or describes the origins of ADDIE as a formal model or even framework, yet there is reference to the ADDIE as far back as the 1970’s in select educational literature. ADDIE is best considered as a classic representation of instructional design principles…”(Morrison, 2013).

A well designed lesson plan with carefully calculated design phases will ensure that the student has exposure to the class object lesson. The online world of distance education has many challenges in that the lessons still need to be relative and enjoyable. Otherwise, the teacher is talking at the students and the students are not retaining the message. My favorite teachers are the ones for which I can still remember lessons that I learned in class (online or traditional). Instructional design phases help ensure that the lesson plans are more than just reading out of the textbooks, it is a plan to engage the students and their learning.

 

Resource:

Moore, M. G., & Kearsley, G. (2012). Distance education: A systems view of online learning. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth Cengage Learning.

Morrison. Debbie. (2013, May 28). “Start Here”: Instructional Design Models for Online Courses. Retrieved on Oct 5, 2016 from https://onlinelearninginsights.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/start-here-instructional-design-models-for-online-courses/

Morrison. Debbie. (2013, May 7). Why Online Courses [Really] Need an Instructional Design Strategy. Retrieved on Oct 5, 2016 from https://onlinelearninginsights.wordpress.com/2013/05/07/why-online-courses-really-need-an-instructional-design-strategy/

 

2 thoughts on “674 – Week 5

  1. Sara Lucas says:

    I really like how you talk about how some argue that instructional design is not necessary. I did not come across this and had not read any of this. I can see where they are coming from, but after trying to learn things on my own I realize how challenging it is. I agree with you that instructional design is very relevant. Although it is possible to learn on your own, it is not easy. You also have to be highly motivated in having a desire to learn something new. I’m really glad you brought this to my attention. You can know how to do something, but you really need a reason to learn it.

    Like

  2. dlmarshallblog says:

    Josie, You are so right in your analysis of the effective use of design framework in teaching,and I appreciate that you pointed out that the best teachers and the most valuable time you spent learning was derived from a good design phase, and the thoughtful, systematic implementation of the lesson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

