677 Robotics Week 11

Essential Question: How have you, and will you continue to “Learn the 21st Century” and allow your students this experience in your classroom?

According to Washington.edu, “the term “technology” refers to advancements in the methods and tools we use to solve problems or achieve a goal. In the classroom, technology can encompass all kinds of tools from low-tech pencil, paper, and chalkboard, to the use of presentation software, or high-tech tablets, online collaboration and conferencing tools, and more.”

 

5-ways-1-300x201

 

In my 21st century world of technology, I keep updated through publications, lectures and conferences. For what I know of the teacher friends I have, this is very much the same. They are expected to have so many hours of “development time” to keep informed of the current technologies. I can say that I spend many hours each month doing classwork and reading current technologies and it never seems enough. There are so many options out there. I do appreciate the conferences because they seem to be relevant to what avenue of technology I need to focus on.

Recommended ways (askateacher.com):

  1. Keep Your Finger on the Pulse of Industry Trends
  2. Use Up-to-Date Devices at Home
  3. Surround Yourself with Technophiles
  4. Build Your Own App
  5. Read Articles and Books About New and Future Technologies

 

5-ways-2-300x194

 

The author makes a great statement that I often struggle with; I often refer to when I was in school. Even though my high school years were during the early 90s and personal computers had made their way into my school – it is nothing like the technology we have today.  It is not fair to measure my high school years with today’s technology. I need to remember the differences when I compare the key tools below to what my current day may have offered.

According to the Center for Teaching and learning, here are 5 key technology tools and can help in the classroom:

  • Online collaboration tools
  • Presentation software
  • Tablets
  • Course Management tools
  • Clickers and smartphones
  • Lecture-capture tools

As a tech, I do think that students still need to know how to spell, do math and write incursive (I know that this is a big debate). I do worry about the “what ifs”, what if an electromagnetic pulse hits us and we do not have computers anymore. Will our children have to write on rocks to pass messages? I don’t think that a comprehensive focus needs to be on the legacy tools we used, but a basic foundation of how to write a real letter with a real pencil is sufficient. I know that might sound old school, but I believe that it is a skill that we should all still have like common sense and manners.

 

 

Sources:
Martinez, S. L., & Stager, G. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom.

Jacqui. (2015 April 15). 5 Ways Teachers Can Stay on Top of Technology.Retrieved July 29, 2016, from http://askatechteacher.com/2015/04/15/5-ways-teachers-can-stay-on-top-of-technology/

University of Washington. N.d.,Teaching with technology. Retrieved July 29, 2016, from  http://www.washington.edu/teaching/teaching-resources/engaging-students-in-learning/teaching-with-technology-2/

3 thoughts on “677 Robotics Week 11

  1. teresareflects says:

    I really like to attend education conferences too. I tend to gain a lot of new ideas and find myself getting very inspired. As we transition to incorporating more 21st century skills, we have to decide what to do away with or at least decrease the time spent on them. Perhaps some things are just not important anymore while some new technology, such as coding, has gained in importance. Unfortunately, we don’t have time for everything. So therefore, I’m wondering what we do now that we can do without.

    Like

  2. unicyclepro says:

    You are right in stating there is just too much technology to keep up. There seems to be a new iPhone every six months, can’t imaging the “other” tech devices, or ways to use tech out there to keep up with! Seems like the only tech device I try to stay on top of is graphing calculators. I know it’s a 90s thing, but if it works even if the network or internet isn’t working, you can always count on the stand-a-lone hardware. 🙂

    Like

  3. aletakmay says:

    Josie,

    It is so true that technology spans a broad spectrum—from pencil to high-tech tablets. I still have a hard time thinking about a pencil as technology, yet it is a tool used for learning—thinking, drawing, problem-solving.

    With so many options out there on the Internet for teachers, I just thought about how it may help us to take notes as to how we go through the process of narrowing down our choices for what is best for our students and selecting this. Then we may share this process with our students as they face the same issues. This reminds me of using think-alouds to allow students to learn from our processes we go through to comprehend text. We can think-aloud a recent process we went through to select an appropriate lesson for our students on a computer venue or lesson.

    Aleta

    Like

Leave a Reply

