677 Robotics – EQ: What would you need to coordinate a “Maker Day” for your school?

What would you need to coordinate a “Maker Day” for your school?

I start everything I do with a list; therefore, I would write up a plan for my Maker Day. I would decide on the details such as the day, say June 18, 2017, a theme, budget (with sponsors for funding), hours spent planning, and finally an agenda.

My Day could be held at a local park on a few picnic benches or setup tables. I would need to space them out so that the attendees had elbow room.Since this is my first official Marker Day, I want to start small, with a few different project booths: Legos, marble madness, blocks, and hot wheels. I would make a table for each activity with color signs to start here. I think of having a few buckets with pieces to inspire creation. I would need a few volunteers at each table to help when needed. At the end of my table, I would like to implement some kind of “test your creation here” setup. Like a platform for the Legos or blocks, area to drop the marbles, and of course a few tracks to test the newly made cars.

I love the “Day of Making” June 18 (makezine.com), but in realty our country was established by “makers,” I have always thought of the early American settlers as engineers of their time. They had to make whatever they had laying around work. I often wonder if the industrial revolution brought us so many conveniences that building with our hands became obsolete. I can still remember my Grandpa Joe stories of growing up on a farm. He said if he needed something or if a part broke – they made it work out of whatever they had laying around. We called it MacGyvering it.

 

Sources:

Martinez, S. L., & Stager, G. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom

Make: Day of Making. (n.d.). Retrieved July 16, 2016, from http://makezine.com/day-of-making/

Young Maker Day. (n.d.). Retrieved July 16, 2016, from https://www.facebook.com/marinovators

Nation of Makers. (n.d.). Retrieved July 16, 2016, from https://www.whitehouse.gov/nation-of-makers

4 thoughts on “677 Robotics – EQ: What would you need to coordinate a “Maker Day” for your school?

  1. tessiesim says:

    Josie,
    I like how you would hold your Maker Day at a local park. Would you limit the day to just your school or invite the community? Your activities sound inviting, kind of like how the Lego store has bricks set up to build with. It’s hard to walk by without building, even as an adult! I agree that with modern conveniences, Making wasn’t needed as much, but now it seems like people are returning to being creative and wanting to create a product. I’m amazed at the projects people come up with, with technology like coding and robotics, but also the products they create by sewing, woodworking, or painting. I can relate to your Uncle Joe, as my dad grew up on a farm and still uses resources he has to come up with a solution to many problems. It seems like this is an authentic way of using the design process to come up with a working solution!

    Like

  2. Sara Lucas says:

    I love the idea of using a park! This might even get more community members. We do not have a park in our community, so unfortunately I cannot steal this idea. You mention sponsors in your post as well. I think this is something huge that will need to be planned far in advance. Especially if you want to make the maker day sustainable and something to be done more than once. I think this is where you really have to get a team to help plan. Do you plan on doing this all by yourself or having others help in the planning? I know you said you would have people help that day, but you may want to consider having more help with planning out the day as well. Just a thought. It would be a lot to take on by yourself.

    Like

  3. katemullin17 says:

    Josie,

    While I was reading your post, I was transported back to my childhood. We grew up poor but that didn’t stop us from dreaming big! One particularly hot summer, my siblings and I tried to make a pool out of an old outbuilding and some sheet plastic. As it turns out, when there is a big roll of sheet plastic just lying around, the chances are pretty good that your dad got it for free because it was full of holes. Who knew? Although we didn’t get a pool as a result of our efforts, we did learn a thing or two about sourcing materials. Our farm was barely a farm with just a small garden and animals we raised for food, but perhaps there is something about the farmer’s mentality that runs deeper than we know!

    I love the idea of a Maker Day in a park. We have a great skate park in Sitka which could serve as an excellent place to test designs with its many ramps and half-pipes. Thanks for thinking outside the box and making me do so as well!

    Like

  4. clayedet637 says:

    Josie,
    Your idea of hosting a Maker Day at a local park makes a lot of sense. I like the idea of your different stations for making items with objects like Legos, marbles, blocks, and Hot Wheels. Having some completed projects on display will help inspire your attendees. A “testing” area also sounds like a great idea, because it facilitates the engineering design process and can motivate participants to make changes to their designs based on their performance. Would you allow participants to take their inventions home with them? Some sort of token of accomplishment might help cement the experience and encourage more making collaborations in the future. Your post reminded me of an iron pour I attended years ago at a community park. Participants were allowed to create molds and artists then casted our work in iron. I still have the piece I designed. I appreciate your historical connection as well. The Industrial Revolution certainly played a large part in making tinkering less prevalent. It makes me wonder the effects of the Information Age, and encourages me to remember to encourage students to use technology to create.
    Great post!
    Jeff

    Like

Leave a Reply

